Sees Copycat Fudge

EF774147-76BD-4BAA-AECE-F342B25B8794

When I was in high school, my favorite hang out spot with friends besides the beach was the mall. They had this candy store there called Sees and I remember making a stop there before heading home. I love chocolate, and I always thought that Sees had the best. Even when they opened a Ghirardelli Chocolate and Ice Cream Shop in town (oh my God I know right?)  I was still a Sees girl.

I haven’t had Sees in a while, so this year I decided to research their fudge recipe and give it a shot. I literally made 3 batches until I had the perfect one. The first one is your classic chocolate with chopped walnuts. Then I made one with a chocolate and peanut butter layer on top, and the last one, which was a huge hit at Casa de Arroyo was a white chocolate fudge with crushed peppermint on top. I will have a separate post for that later.

Now that I have finally figured out the right amount marshmallow fluff, and that when they say stir the sugar and evaporated milk while it’s rapidly boiling for 7 minutes, you better stir that sucker for 7 minutes. I was able to have a perfect Christmas present to give to neighbors, the mail man, the cash delivery guy at work, and the lady from Shoprite who likes to talk to me about the end of the world. Oh and by the way, the dollar store has the cutest gift boxes and tins to put them in and it’s the perfect size! Here’s the recipe for the classic milk chocolate fudge. Enjoy!

0D29E2A8-3FFA-49A7-A2E7-8E12A89C09CA

CDE9CB16-E18B-4B11-8A23-A802B3EAB098Ingredients:

  • 3 bags of milk chocolate chips
  • 12 oz can of evaporated milk or condensed milk
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 cups chopped walnuts or pecans
  • 7 oz of Marshmallow fluff
  • 2 sticks of butter (room temp)
  • 3 cups of sugar
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract

 

  • Place some parchment paper in a glass baking dish.
  • In a large mixing bowl, add the chocolate chips, nuts, butter, fluff, and vanilla extract. Set aside.
  • In a large pot – bigger than you think, add the evaporated milk, sugar and regular milk. Bring to a boil and stir. Once it’s rapidly boiling, keep stirring for 7 minutes. (It’s going to be the longest 7 minutes of your life.) It will start to expand, hence the “larger than you think” pot.
  • After 7 minutes carefully pour this over the other ingredients in the mixing bowl. Start stirring with a spatula until all the chocolate is melted and you have a nice smooth texture.
  • Pour this onto the parchment lined baking dish and spread evenly.
  • you can either set aside to cool or stick in the refrigerator until it’s hard enough to cut.

If you want to try it with the peanut butter layer, I simply switched one of the bags of chocolate chips with peanut butter chips, and did a way with the nuts. I used a separate bowl for the peanut butter and divided a third of the ingredients to go in with it. Then you just pour it over the chocolate portion and let cool.

05255AD9-DCA9-4F90-A341-A64080789705D7FD02FA-92EF-47DC-B21D-D905DBE0F91C

Leave a comment